

Meriden Amateur Radio Club, Inc P.O. Box 583 Meriden, CT 06450 www.W1NRG.com w1fdscholarship@gmail.com

The Frank Darmofalski (W1FD) Memorial Scholarship Fund

The Meriden Amateur Radio Club (MARC) is pleased to announce it's 2024 **Frank Darmofalski Memorial Scholarship**. The scholarship was created in 2006 to honor one of the clubs' founders, Frank Darmofalski (W1FD), and awards a deserving Meriden or Wallingford High School Senior who will be attending an institution of higher learning upon graduation. The amount of the scholarship in 2024 is \$1000.00.

MARC is a special service club of the American Radio Relay League (ARRL) which is an organization that oversees amateur (ham) radio in the United States. MARC is made up of licensed amateur radio operators of all ages who enjoy the hobby of radio and who also volunteer their services for community and emergency events.

Applicants should be pursing higher education in a STEM related field with an emphasis on electronics and/or radio communications. We encourage ALL interested students to apply. Special consideration will be given to any student who holds an amateur radio license.

Applicant Requirements:

- ❖ Must be graduating in 2024 from a high school in Meriden or Wallingford, CT and accepted or planning to attend an accredited institution in the Fall of 2024.
- ❖ Priority will be given to applicants enrolled in a STEM tract of curriculum.
- * Transcripts must be attached.
- ❖ A written essay of 250 words (minimum) on why they selected their program of study and what they plan to do with it upon graduation/program completion.
- Open to all regardless of race, religion, sex, or national origin.

Awards will be based upon the following criteria:

- **❖** Academic grades
- Financial need
- ❖ Area of study
- Public service actives
- Electronic projects

The application, grade transcripts, and 250 (minimum) word essay should be submitted no later than **April 12, 2024,** to the P.O. Box above or via email to <u>w1fdscholarship@gmail.com</u>.

Sincerely, Jim Savage, N1ZN MARC Scholarship Chair

Ed Snyder, W1YSM MARC President