Meriden ARC Web Site | Castle Craig Chapter 10-10

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
November Sweepstakes
Folks,

I'm just a newbie in the hobby and the club but wanted to get some thoughts and questions down on 'paper' and send out to all. I sent out emails to all on this as well since I want folks to make sure they get this, read this, and hopefully we get things rolling.

A few months ago some of us expressed interest in having a radio station to go to for this months sweepstakes contest. It seemed there were a number of folks wanting to do this and here we are a week to go and haven't heard much else on the subject

I'd really like to see this happen at the club. At my QTH I am limited to what I can have for antennas, and I found field day a great learning experience and hoping the same for the sweepstakes event. I'm not an expert at any of this and really need to have the more experienced folks help out in getting amps/radio/power/antenna situated at the club house for this event. Having the resident N1MM expert(s) on hand would be a big plus.

Anyway, thought I'd toss this out for comments and see how we get this organized. I know we don't have the telephone poles in place at the clubhouse for permanent antenna installations and that probably won't be done by this Friday, however today at the SET we did have HF up and running. There are some trees that we can shoot a rope over to run temporary G5RV antennas for a day. One set of trees abut the apartment complex the other clump of trees are about 100 feet back from the clubhouse. I can take some time off on Friday to assist in setting up the radio gear but would need some help. I can operate SSB and willing to take on at least an 8 hour shift to help with the event.

Steve - KC1AXJ
73, Steve - KC1SA
Hi All,
I too have been looking forward to The Sweeps and hope to put some time in as well. Willing to take a shift or two or whatever as needed.