Meriden ARC Web Site | Castle Craig Chapter 10-10

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
ISS
Nice article in the paper about the students talking to the ISS last week. Sparked my interest. I'm new to all this..KC1AXJ, so really new. Have seen on youtube folks talking to the ISS from their HT just with the stock rubber ducky antenna. I've been trying on a few passes with my vertical ground plane antenna but no luck yet. Anyone else done this from a HT.

Just wondering..

KC1AXJ
73, Steve - KC1SA
(01-31-2014, 06:49 PM)KC1AXJ Wrote: Nice article in the paper about the students talking to the ISS last week. Sparked my interest. I'm new to all this..KC1AXJ, so really new. Have seen on youtube folks talking to the ISS from their HT just with the stock rubber ducky antenna. I've been trying on a few passes with my vertical ground plane antenna but no luck yet. Anyone else done this from a HT.

Just wondering..

KC1AXJ

They don't get on much. I've tried a number of passes that have good coverage. I've worked them but that was when there was a big push from the ARRL when all the excitement over MIR, the Shuttle and finally ISS was more active. Most of the time you will see something in the ARRL letter or QST announcing an operation probably something like Field Day. You also have a better chance of working them on holidays or weekends when they have a reduced crew in JSC in Houston and at NASA in Florida. Finally remember that their work and sleep schedule is quite different than we would expect. Their wake up time is early in the morning.. 2 or 3 AM so by late afternoon they are winding down for the day and getting ready for bed. Their "play time" may be late afternoon before they are put down for the day.